Thursday, October 02, 2003

Co-president of UM PRSSA chapter wins prestigious scholarship

Great news! Heather Solomon, Co-President of our PRSSA chapter, is the winner of the 2003 Ev Clay Scholarship for outstanding public relations students (the other two winners of the scholarships are Erica Galan from Miami-Dade College, and Maria C. Cabal from Florida International University). She received the award on September 26, at the 16th Annual Ev Clay/PRSA Miami Endowment Fund Luncheon.

The Ev Clay Scholarship, which provides three annual awards in amount of $2,500 each, is the largest and perhaps the oldest PRSA chapter endowed scholarship program, honoring the memory of Everett Clay, a pioneer of public relations practice in Miami.

The award was given at the 16th Annual Ev Clay/PRSA Miami Endowment Fund Luncheon on Friday, September 26.

Heather is a junior with a double major in Public Relations and Sociology and a minor in Marketing. Here is what the happy winner declared on this occasion:

I know it sounds cliche to say I'm honored to have received the scholarship, but it is true. Especially since there are so many great and talented PR students and PRSSA members at the University of Miami. Being a member of PRSSA certainly did help me get the scholarship. For one, it was a requirement just to apply for it and also I've learned so much valuable information about PR through PRSSA.

I'm so excited about Miami PRSSA chapter this year. We have a great e-board that includes 11 very intelligent and responsible girls and a wonderful and kind advisor, Dr. Tilson. We are looking forward to gaining new members and carrying out successful meetings and events.


Post a Comment

<< Home